Reviewer of the Year for 2007, 2008, and 2009

Over the past decade we at *CJNR* have editorialized many times about how much we value our reviewers' service in providing astute and timely assessments of articles submitted for publication. We have written about the role that peer review plays in academic journals — the challenges involved and the sensitivities of both reviewer and author in this process. Despite the inherent awkwardness and occasional pitfalls of peer review, the world of scholarship has not yet found a viable alternative. Furthermore, the value of peer review for the overall quality of what is ultimately published is undisputable.

A number of years ago we decided to regularly honour reviewers who had been especially consistent and faithful in their efforts on our behalf and had written reviews that were particularly helpful to us and to the authors. Though 3 years have passed since we last published a reviewer tribute, we have been keeping track and would like to honour a reviewer for each of those years.

At the conclusion of the 2007 publication year we selected **Jacqueline Dienemann**, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, Professor at the School of Nursing, University of North Carolina, Charlotte, and adjunct Associate Professor at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland. Dr. Dienemann specializes in research on domestic violence and on program evaluation. She teaches program evaluation, oversees master's-level evidence-based capstone projects, guides nursing research programs at two hospitals, and serves on the advisory board for Lake Norman Regional Hospital.

For 2008 our choice was **Sandra LeFort**, PhD, RN, Professor at the School of Nursing, Memorial University of Newfoundland, St. John's. Dr. LeFort's involvement in nursing and health care spans more than 35 years, in clinical work, research, education, and administration. Most recently, she completed a 5-year term as Director of the School of Nursing at Memorial University. Her scholarly interests are in chronic pain, patient education related to the self-management of chronic pain and chronic illness, and clinical ethics. Dr. LeFort has received research funding from the National Health Research and Development Program of Health Canada, the Medical Research Council of Canada, and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. She has made over one hundred presentations in the area of chronic pain and has 57 publications to her credit.

Finally, for 2009 we selected Greta Cummings, PhD, RN, Associate Professor in the Faculty of Nursing, University of Alberta, Edmonton, and founder of the university's CLEAR (Connecting Leadership, Education And Research) outcomes research program in leadership science in health services. Dr. Cummings conducts research on the effects, both positive and negative, of specific leadership practices on outcomes for the health-care system, for the health-care workforce, and for patients. She has received provincial and national funding and currently holds two investigator awards: a Population Health Investigator Award from the Alberta Heritage Foundation for Medical Research (2006–12), and a New Investigator Award from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (2006-11). Her extensive service contributions include membership on numerous editorial and professional boards. She recently served as President of the Canadian Association of Nurses in Oncology and is currently President Elect of the International Society of Nurses in Cancer Care.

As we recognize and thank these three wonderful reviewers, we would like to say that, after reflecting on several developments over the past decade, we have decided to retire the Reviewer of the Year designation. This choice reflects the evolution of the field and declares "mission accomplished" in terms of upgrading the quality of our reviews.

The sophistication of nursing research has increased greatly, and with it the degree of specialization we look for in reviewers, in terms of methods or subject matter or both. As a result, we are calling more and more on reviewers to examine fairly specific types of articles — and may not call on them again until another article drawing on their area of expertise comes to us, which could take years. Therefore, it is becoming ever more challenging to identify uniquely faithful reviewers, which was one of our goals in instituting the Reviewer of the Year designation.

In addition, the pool of reviewers has expanded and the quality of reviews has improved dramatically. It is becoming easier to identify qualified reviewers, and, despite the extreme time pressures we all face, well-informed scholars at a range of career stages are still agreeing to contribute and are drafting high-quality reviews that now consistently meet our target levels of detail and focus.

We consider all of these trends cause for celebration.

Once again, we extend our congratulations and thanks to *CJNR*'s final three Reviewers of the Year. We are also grateful to all those who have reviewed for us over the years. The ever-increasing quality of the Journal is a tribute to their service.

Sean P. Clarke Associate Editor